Fungal Culture collection

Tartu Fungal Culture collection was established by academician Erast Parmasto in 1970 at the Institute of Zoology and Botany (Estonian Academy of Science), merged with Estonian Agricultural University in 2002. In 2000 the collection was registered at the World Federation for Culture Collections (WFCC) as the Tartu Fungal Culture Collection (acronym TFC). In addition to the fungal culture collection now located at the Estonian University of Life Sciences, in 2006 TFC subcollection was established at the Natural History Museum of the University of Tartu. At present it holds ca 2800 fungal strains, which have been isolated into pure culture from material collected from Estonia and various regions in the world mostly by scientists at the University of Tartu. Parasitic microfungi from the phylum Ascomycota form the main part of the TU subcollection but strains of ectomycorrhizal and saprotrophic members of Basidiomycota have also been deposited here.

Fungal strains are kept in test tubes on agar slants using malt extract and cornmeal but also Melin-Norkrans modified medium as the main culture media at +6 °C or +18 °C. At 1.5-2 year interval each culture is being transferred to fresh culture media. In addition, over half of the strains are kept in 10% glycerol solution at -80°C in an ultrafreezer.

The fungal strains are actively studied by mycologists working at the at the University of Tartu but are also used in applied research outside the university. Irma Zettur is the curator of the TFC subcollection at the University of Tartu.

Tartu Fungal Culture Collection at the World Data Center for Microorganisms

And at the Estonian University of Life Sciences

Chemicum, Ravila 14a, 50411, Tartu, Estonia